Burtt Mentoring Grant Recipients: Lyn Brown & Trevor MacLaurin

The recipients of this year’s Jed Burtt Undergraduate Mentoring Grant from the WOS are Trent University’s Lyn Brown (mentor) and Trevor MacLaurin (mentee), whose planned project is titled “The impact of vegetation encroachment on American Oystercatcher nesting distribution and hatching success.”

Lyn Brown (left) and Trevor MacLaurin (right).

Established in 2016, this unique grant is named in memory of Jed Burtt, a past president of the WOS and exemplary mentor of many undergraduate ornithologists during his long career. Recipients receive up to $1,000 in funding for a project carried out collaboratively by an undergraduate student and their mentor, plus additional funding to attend an annual meeting of the Wilson Ornithological Society and present their findings. You can read about the experiences of a past undergraduate recipient of this grant here. Congratulations, Lyn and Trevor—we look forward to meeting you and learning about your work at a future WOS conference!

Allan Keith Receives 2022 Klamm Service Award

The WOS established the William and Nancy Klamm Service Award in 2005 to honor members who have performed extraordinary service to the society. At the annual WOS meeting in Santa Fe, New Mexico, last month, it was announced that the 2022 recipient of the Klamm Service Award is Allan R. Keith, Investing Trustees Chair from 2000 to 2018.

Keith has been a Wilson member for more than sixty years, and through his stewardship, the society grew its financial assets by more than $1,000,000 while also providing more than $1,200,000 of support for annual activities. According to the Klamm Service Award Committee, the WOS could not have kept membership rates low, conference registration affordable, and covered journal publication costs without Keith’s foresight, oversight, and management and practices that he pioneered. “His leadership and stewardship cannot be understated,” the award committee members wrote.

Winners of the Klamm Service Award traditionally receive an original painting commissioned from bird artist Julie Zickefoose. Keith’s painting depicts the Puerto Rican Tody, one of his favorite birds. Please join us in thanking and congratulation Allan R. Keith!

Congratulations to This Year’s Student Presentation Award Winners

Thumbs up to #WOS2022! From left to right: Award winners Alex Sidare, Shane McFoy, and Annika Abbott. Not pictured is Marky Mutchler, who had to leave before the awards ceremony.

One of the most beloved traditions of the annual WOS meeting is the Student Presentation Awards, given to the best oral and poster presentations by undergraduate and graduate students at the meeting. Judges volunteer their time to view and rank presentations, and the awards are presented at the conclusion of the meeting. Please join us in congratulating the four recipients of this year’s awards!

  • Alexander Wilson Prize (best overall student oral presentation): Alex Sidare, “Are flight calls used for intraspecific or interspecific communication in two species of warblers?”
  • Lynds Jones Prize (best overall student poster presentation): Shane McFoy, “Assessing hybrid chickadee cognitive impairment in the wild”
  • Nancy Klamm Oral Presentation Award (best undergraduate oral presentation): Annika Abbott, “Inbound Arrivals: Using weather surveillance radar to quantify the timing of spring trans-gulf bird migration”
  • Nancy Klamm Poster Presentation Award (best undergraduate poster presentation): Marky Mutchler, “The Juruá River as a barrier for different populations of Myrmoborus myotherinus

Introducing the WOS’s Three New Elected Councilors

Welcome and congratulations to the WOS’s three new Elected Councilors! Officially voted in at the 2022 WOS meeting in Santa Fe, New Mexico, this week, they will each serve a three-year term on the WOS Council, volunteering their time to help lead the society. They will be replacing Kerri Cornell Duerr, Desiree Narango, and Jason Luscier, whose terms end this year.

Continue reading

Announcing the 2022 Margaret Morse Nice Lecturer

Each annual meeting of the Wilson Ornithological Society opens with a plenary by the recipient of that year’s Margaret Morse Nice Medal. We are delighted to announce that this year, the medal winner and lecturer is Chris Rimmer of the Vermont Center for Ecostudies. His plenary lecture will be titled “Bicknell’s Thrush: Scientific surprises and conservation connections across the hemisphere.” More details will be forthcoming in the next few weeks, but please join us congratulating Chris—we look forward to his talk in Santa Fe!