Research Grant Recipients ~ 2015

Louis Agassiz Fuertes Grants

Carolyn Bauer, North Dakota State University (Advisor: Timothy Greives): “Do telomere lengths predict timing of breeding in Junco hyemalis?”

Sarah MacLean, University of California-Berkley (Advisor: Steven Biessinger): “Interactive effects of climate and land-use change on century-scale range shifts of Californian birds”

Hall/Mayfield Grant

Karen AghababyanTowards Sustainable Ecosystems (NGO) and American University of Armenia: Habitat requirements of the Semi-collared Flycatcher (Ficedula semitorquata) in the best-known habitats in Armenia

WOS Student Research Grants

Stepfanie Aguillon, Cornell University (Advisor: Irby Lovette): “Reanalysis of a classical avian hybrid zone: using next-generation sequencing to characterize hybridization in the Northern Flicker (Colaptes auratus)”

Aurelia Kucera, North Dakota State University (advisor: Britt Heidinger): “Inheriting the consequences of stress: does sperm play a role?”

Todd Jones, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Advisors: Michael Ward and Jeffery Brawn): “Examining the post-fledging period of migratory birds: do carryover effects influence fledgling behavior and survival?”

Douglas Eddy, University of Wyoming (Advisor: Matthew Carling): “Testing models of energy cost and trade-offs for malaria infection in Dark-eyed Juncos”

Paul A. Stewart Grants

Stephen Ferguson, University of Memphis (Advisor: Stephan Schoech): “Stress-response profiles as a predictor of dispersal distance in Florida Scrub-Jays”

Max Witynski,, Cornell University (Advisor: David Bonter): “Migratory connectivity in a widely-distributed North American warbler”

Brock Geary, Tulane University (Advisor: Jordan Karubian): “How does the hypoxic zone affect seabird foraging behaviors in the Gulf of Mexico?”

Ruth Bennett, Cornell University (Advisor: Amanda Rodewald): “Causes and consequences of sexual habitat segregation in a declining Nearctic-Neotropical migratory passerine”

The Committee received 116 applications for the awards.