Research Grant Recipients ~ 2014

Louis Agassiz Fuertes Grants

Alyssa Borowske, University of Connecticut (research mentor: Chris Elphick): “Effects of life history strategies on migration timing and distance in tidal Marsh Sparrows”

Molly Staley, Auburn University (research mentor: Geoffrey E. Hill): “Understanding the mechanisms of pathogen host switches and emerging infectious diseases in wild birds”

Hall/Mayfield Grant

David Jakim: “Port Washington habitat matters”

WOS Student Research Grants

Stephanie Y. Chin, College of William and Mary (research mentor: Dan Cristol): “The effect of dietary methylmercury exposure on parental care of an avian model species”

Misha Blizard, University of Chicago (research mentor: Stephen Pruett-Jones): “Proximate mechanisms of female aggression in a sex-role reversed species”

Katherine Freeman, Villanova University (research mentor: Robert L. Curry): “Impacts of post-fledgling survival on reproductive success in an endangered and cooperatively breeding tropical passerine”

Marisa Lim, Stony Brook University (research mentor: Catherine Graham): “Investigating the genetic basis of high altitude adaptation in Andean hummingbirds”

Paul A. Stewart Grants

Kathryn McCollum, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (research mentor: John P. Carroll): “Conservation of Kori Bustards (Ardeotis kori kori) on Private and Public Lands on a Semi-Arid Landscape in Botswana”

Jack Stenger, University of Cincinnati (research mentor: Kenneth Petren): “Impact of climate change on the migratory behavior and dispersal of Eastern Bluebirds during a 150-year span”

Emily J. Williams, Kansas State University (research mentor: W. Alice Boyle): “Grasshopper Sparrows on the move: what drives within-season dispersal in Grasshopper Sparrows?”

David Zonana, University of Colorado – Boulder (research mentor: Rebecca Safran): “How do sexual signals mediate social interactions?: applying social network theory to signal-driven social transactions in the barn swallow (Hirundo rustica)”

The Committee received 156 applications for the awards.