Research Grants

Applications are now closed. 2023 research grant recipients will be announced in May.

Each year, the Wilson Ornithological Society offers four categories of research grants. The focus of each differs somewhat, as does the amount of the award. Willingness to report results of the research as an oral or poster paper at an annual meeting of the Wilson Ornithological Society within the next five years and provide a brief write-up and a photograph of the awardees for the webpage is also a condition of all grants.

Complete proposal guidelines are available here (PDF download).

Applicants should be current WOS members or willing to become members of the WOS.

Applicants are asked to submit their proposals electronically to the following Google Form:

Please have your advisor or another person familiar with your research upload a PDF letter of recommendation online at the following link:

Contact: Letitia (Letty Reichart), Research Grant Committee Chair,

Louis Agassiz Fuertes Grants

The Wilson Society’s most prestigious award is available to all ornithologists, although graduate students and young professionals are preferred. Any avian research is eligible. Up to two awards of $5000 are given annually.

George A. Hall / Harold F. Mayfield Grant

This award is limited to independent researchers without access to funds and facilities available at colleges, universities, or governmental agencies, and is restricted to non-professionals, including high school students. Any kind of avian research is eligible. Up to one $2000 award is given. Formerly known as the Margaret Morse Nice Award.

Wilson Ornithological Society Research Grants

Up to four awards of $3000 are given annually, for work in any area of ornithology. Two of these awards will be limited to research by Masters students.

Paul A. Stewart Grants

Preference will be given to proposals for studies of bird movements (based on banding, radio or satellite telemetry, or similar methods) or an emphasis on economic ornithology. Up to four awards of $2000 are given annually.

Previous grant recipients