William and Nancy Klamm Service Award

In 2005, the Council of the Wilson Ornithological Society established the William and Nancy Klamm Service Award to honor the history of service and dedication to the society shown by the Klamms.

Bill Klamm served as Treasurer from 1968 to 1973, both he and Nancy regularly attended Wilson meetings, and both also served on the Auditing Committee during the 1970s and 1980s. Bill died in 1998. In 2002, Nancy passed away and bequeathed a substantial portion of her assets to the Wilson Ornithological Society, more than doubling the society’s endowment fund.

Beginning in 2007, the Klamm Service Award has been given annually to a member who has performed extraordinary service to the society.

Award recipients

Year Recipient
2020 John Kricher and Mary Bomberger Brown (posthumous)
2019 John A. Smallwood
2018 Robert (Bob) Beason
2017 E. Dale Kennedy
2016 Edward (Jed) H. Burtt, Jr.
2015 Janet G. Hinshaw
2014 Douglas A. James
2013 Clait E. Braun
2012 Doris J. Watt
2011 Charles R. Blem and Leann Blam
2010 Jerome A. Jackson
2009 Kenneth C. Parkes
2008 Richard C. Banks
2007 George A. Hall